The Lard Brothers: Free Album Download

The Lard Brothers are a hip-hop-based side project made up of Bob Seng and Bob Tan. They recently got cracking on a Mark Ronson-esque project by revamping and recording their favorite Singaporean indie tunes. Joined by Bob Tang, they invited their friends to guest on the album, lending their vocal talents and instrumental prowess. Each cover is a re-imagination of the original tune, embarking on a vastly different path from its original.

The ‘Forest Action Team’ album is released online via the Aging Youth Records site and can be downloaded for free from today onwards.


01. Previously
02. Enemy

Toys In The Attic’s Joanne Sandhu turns up a funk-soul version of TypeWriter’s ‘Enemy’.
03. Circling Square
B-Quartet’s Bani Haykal sings an R’n’B-meets-trip hop rendition of folk-rock legends Humpback Oak’s classic ‘Circling Square’.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

04. The Boy From Katong
marchtwelve’s Dewi-marie Vincoy lends her pipes and You And Whose Army?’s Adam Shah provides his prodigious drumming talent on a ska-reggae rendition of Serenaide’s indie-pop classic ‘The Boy From Katong’.


Nuance: EP Giveaway!


On Friday, 18th July at 10pm, alternative rock quartet Nuance will launch their self-titled debut EP at Home Club. In an interview with frontman Donald Pan two weeks ago, we promised you a crack at two free EPs. Want one? Send me an email and I’ll choose two names randomly on Wednesday. Good luck!

* Contest is open to Singapore residents only!

RSC Block Party: VIP Ticket Giveaway!


Going green gets groovy come 19th July at Old School @ Mount Sophia, when the RSC Block Party (see our interview) kicks off Singapore’s first rock festival in support of the environment. Through the use of Music and the Arts, the party aims to raise awareness on Environmental, Oceanic Reef and Animal rights issues amongst the youth of Singapore.

The Green Line Up

Headlining this event will be a concert, showcasing local bands such as Plainsunset, The Great Spy Experiment, Amateur Takes Control, The Analog Girl and I Am David Sparkle, to name a few.

There will also be a flea market to encourage the 3Rs of conservation – Recycle, Reuse and Reduce. Adding to the festivity will be ‘Say Cheese with Bintan Resorts’ photo contest and DJs from Home Club working the ambience music. At the same time, there will be a screening of select local films at Sinema. Visit the RSC Block Party site for more details.


We are giving away a pair of VIP tickets to two lucky readers. We’ll run this contest till 11th July, so for those interested, just send a sweet email to Michele.

Update: Sorry guys … we have two winners. The contest is closed. 

Contest is open to Singapore residents only.

Nuance drops first EP!


Click the image to watch and listen to the Mesopotamia track.

Folk-flavored, alternative rock outfit Nuance finally decided to bang out six songs and two video tracks for the release of their eponymous debut EP. Which is awesome, even more so since we have the opportunity to offer two EPs for you guys to win. So watch this space!

I recently hung around Donald Pan, one of the handsome young fellows from Nuance, and had a beer-fueled conversation about some juiced bits and pieces.


Plainsunset Album Giveaway!


Last night was Plainsunset‘s launch of their first widely distributed studio album. Plainsunset is the band’s self-titled fourth release since reforming after their breakup in 2004. About the album, lead singer Jon Chan says, “Our musical approach was to aim for timeless songs. We were more open to pulling in our influences to receive input from he timeless to create the timeless.”

GIVEAWAY! We have two albums to give away to two readers. To enter, email Michele before 18 June. *

* Contest is open to Singapore residents only!

B-Quartet’s Full-Length hits the stores!

One of my favorite discoveries when I moved to Singapore in 2003 was alternative rock act, B-Quartet. I haven’t checked in on the boys for a while, but it looks like I swung back by just in time, since they are set to launch their debut full-length ‘Tomorrow Is Our Permanent Address’.

According to the press release, the album promises to put a stronger emphasis on song craft over instrumental pyrotechnics. Incorporating electronic elements into their usual jumble of jazz, alternative rock and pop, the band blends Bani Haykal’s poetry with its love for soft-loud dynamics and sharply tuned melodies.

Listen to the stream of Disp rs, courtesy of Aging Youth Records, and then try to resist buying the album.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


2 February, 8pm: Album launch at The Playden. Charge: $16.00 (pre-sale), $22.00 (at the door). Email for pre-sale tickets.

‘Tomorrow is our Permanent Address’ is available from EarShot Cafe, Gramophone, Roxy Records, Sembawang Music Centre and Straits Records.

The Dada Record: Keith Png

I’m Keith Png. In April 2007, I started my own design company KOOPS, providing customisation, made to measure, exclusive collection and uniform services. KOOPS has since dressed celebrities like Fann Wong, Zoe Tay, Taiwanese Supermodel Lin Chi Ling and many others and has been appointed as the exclusive design company for the Scottish label, Lyle & Scott (vintage line).


Keith will be opening his first shop which promises to be an exciting retail experience with a variety of services and products available in a two storey charismatic shop house. MORE »

The Dada Record: eeshaun

Hello my name is eeshaun and I live in Gardensilly. I am a self-taught illustrator who enjoys the unexpected twists and surprises in drawing and painting. I also do graphics and murals and I love chicken rice and bubble tea.

eeshaun has freelanced as a graphic designer and layout artist for MTV, Nickelodeon, National Youth Council, and has produced illustrations for SPUNK magazine, Playtimes, Project 1819, and more – with his work exhibited at Design 20/20 and a new show coming up in 2008 at Night & Day gallery.


Continue Previous page Next page


Culturepush tracks cool stuff in art, culture and design in Singapore.

Contact Us.

Need a Job?

Over at the Job Board.

Submit a job listing. It's free!


Culturepulse is a retrospective of the fresh-faced talents which we featured on Culturepush, and have since blossomed into established creatives-on-the-scene.

What's happening in Singapore?
Get your (almost) daily fix on our Facebook page.

Warning: fsockopen() [function.fsockopen]: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known in /home/culturep/public_html/x/wp-content/plugins/wp-shortstat.php on line 124

Warning: fsockopen() [function.fsockopen]: unable to connect to udp:// (php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known) in /home/culturep/public_html/x/wp-content/plugins/wp-shortstat.php on line 124

Warning: stream_set_timeout() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in /home/culturep/public_html/x/wp-content/plugins/wp-shortstat.php on line 125